





11th International Mathematics Competition for University Students

23rd - 29th July, Skopje, Macedonia http://www.imc-math.org/

2004

Organized by University College London





Saints Cyril and Methodius University Skopje



<u>Sponsors</u> Princeton University Press Wolfram Research

WOLFRAM RESEARCH

<u>President</u> Professor John E. Jayne

Department of Mathematics, University College London Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT, UK Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 7322; Fax: +44 (0)20 7419 2812 e-mail: j.jayne@imc-math.org http://www.ucl.ac.uk/~ucahjej/

Local Organizer

Doc. Dr. Vesna Manova Erakovic
Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Institute of Mathematics
P.O.Box 162, 1000 Skopje, MACEDONIA
vesname@iunona.pmf.ukim.edu.mk

Competition Coordinator
Dr Chrisina Draganova
c.draganova@imc-math.org

Every participating university is invited to send several students and one teacher. Individual students are welcome. The competition is planned for students completing their first, second, third or fourth year of university education and will consist of 2 Sessions of 5 hours each. Problems will be from the fields of Algebra, Analysis (Real and Complex) and Combinatorics. The working language will be English.

Over the ten competitions we have had students from the following ninety four universities

Amirkabir University of Technology (Tehran), Universidad de los Andes (Colombia), University of Athens, Babes-Bolyai University (Romania), Belarusian State University, University of Belgrade, Bessenyei College Nyiregyhaza (Hungary), University of Birmingham, Blagoevgrad South-West University (Bulgaria), University of Bonn, University of Bordeaux, International University of Bremen, Universite Libre de Bruxelles, University of Bucharest, Cambridge University, Charles University (Prague), Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Bogota), Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Medellin), Comenius University (Slovakia), Complutense University of Madrid, Nicholas Copernicus University (Poland), University of Craiova, University of Cyprus, Ecole Polytechnique (Paris), ENSAE (Paris), Ecole Normale Superieure (Paris), Free University and University of Cyprus, Ecole Polytechnique (Paris), ENSAE (Paris), Ecole Normale Superieure (Paris), Free University Genion University of Engine University, Helsinki University of Technology, Humboldt University Berlin, IME - Instituto Militar de Engenharia (Brazil), Intercollege - Cyprus, University of Iowa, ITA - Instituto Tecnolgico de Aeronutica (Brazil), Jagiellonian University (Poland), University of Jerusalem, Kharkov State University (Ukraine), Kiev Polytechnic University, University of Kishineu (Moldova), Kyiv Taras Shevchenko University (Ukraine), Kiev Polytechnic University, University of Kishineu (Moldova), Kyiv Taras Shevchenko University (Hungary), Masaryk University Brno (Czech Republic), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Max-Plank Institute (Germany), Adam Mickiewicz University Brno (Czech Republic), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Murcia (Spain), Antonio Narino University (Colombia), University of Nis (Serbia), North University of Baia Mare (Romania), Odessa National University (Ukraine), University of Oradea (Romania), Oxford University (University of Paris VI, Petru Maior University of Kopje (Macedonia), University of Sofia, Stuttgart University (Iran),

The following thirty one countries have been represented

Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Israel, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States